Melissa Barker – Pinch-Pot Tea-Pots

This workshop will begin on: Sunday May 9th at 10am PDT, 12pm CDT, 1 pm EDT, 7pm CEST

Hi, I’m Melissa Barker, and in this workshop I will be teaching you one of the oldest pottery techniques: Pinching.

Not only are you going to learn how to finish the perfect pot, you will also then transform it into a functional, sculptural, & funky teapot 😍

This workshop is suitable for all levels, and all you need is some clay, a scraper and a kidney/rib.

This workshop will begin on: Sunday May 9th at 10am PDT, 12pm CDT, 1 pm EDT, 7pm CEST

You Get My Workshop:
Join me online for my workshop and Q&A.

Join my Live Q&A
Join my Live Q&A where you can talk with my face-to-face and ask questions about my process.

You Get Lifetime Access to the Replays
The workshop Q&A will be recorded, and you will have lifetime access to it. You can watch it online, or download it to your device to watch offline at any time.

About Melissa Barker

Melissa Barker is an established ceramics artist, a qualified French chef and Archaeologist, based in Cape Town, South Africa. She is currently in the final year of her Master’s of Arts degree in ancient food and ceramics at the University of South Africa under the mentorship of Prof Magdel le Roux. Her research focuses on the Yale Babylonian recipes which were written in 1700 BC as well as the pottery that was used during this period.

Between 2013-2018 Melissa participated in archaeological excavations in Hazor, Israel, a world heritage site, where she was involved in the ceramic restoration of the site for the last three years. In 2017 she was commissioned to re-create ancient ceramics for the National Geographic documentary, Origins.

Melissa’s extensive knowledge of Mesopotamian material culture, and the experience of working with ancient ceramics, has greatly influenced her vessels. They are both expressive and extremely refined forms, and indirectly pay homage to the sophistication of this ancient civilisation.

She has developed a range of distinctive marbled porcelain and terracotta vessels. Each piece is individually marbled by hand and unique. In 2019 she won the Ceramics South Africa (Western Cape) – New Signatures Award for these vessels.

In February to March 2020 Melissa participated in an international ceramics residency in France, under the mentorship of Dr Wendy Gers, an award winning curator and scholar and Lauren Kearns world renowned ceramics artist and director of International Artist Residency Exchange.

Website: www.melissabarkerceramics.com

+697 enrolled
Not Enrolled

Workshop Includes

  • 2 Lessons