Lauren Sandler – Constructing Narrative Vessels

When:
June 19, 2022 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
This event is organized by:

The Ceramic School

Lauren Sandler – Constructing Narrative Vessels

Hi there! My name is Lauren Sandler. For my workshop I will demonstrate how I conceptualize, plan, and build one of my stacked vessels. The process will include throwing and handbuilding the main parts of the form, making the smaller objects that are attached and hang from the form, as well as the final stacking and composition of the object. I will also talk about the ideas and research behind my work. That will include: My thinking around clay as a pervasive cultural material filled with layered content and meaning; clay as a means to explore larger cultural, social, economic, and political content; as well as the use of the vessel as a means to challenge ideas of material and larger contexts of objects and goods. We will go through the following steps: Conceptualizing pieces Gathering objects and images of inspiration or interest Sketching forms and planning the building of the piece Throwing and handbuilding main parts of the stacked object Handbuilding a variety of small objects that are attached and hung from the main object Composing the final piece with hung elements You will understand the making of a multi piece stacked vessel physically and conceptually layered with many objects to create a narrative of your choosing. The workshop is taking place on Sunday 19th June 2022 at 10 AM PST, 1 PM EST, 7 PM CET

Add your Event to our Calendar